Home > Network > Starting wireless from the terminal

Starting wireless from the terminal

Wicd has always been nice to me πŸ™‚ However, there are times when I don’t need X, and so I manually up the wireless using ifconfig and iwconfig. The Arch wiki suggests that I use network profiles along with netcfg. Its nice but for a simple dhcp or a static IP one shouldn’t have to install another app.

It was then that one user in #archlinux gave me a script to bring up the wireless interface with a simple script in rc.d. Pretty simple, clean and plays along nicely with Arch’s KISS principle I would say. I changed the dhcp to static (yes I use it at home only, so no need for dhcp at the moment), and there she comes up precious. πŸ™‚

The usage is a simple /etc/rc.d/wifi {start|stop|restart }

No more typing in a thousand things, and I got a nice Arch way of doing it. For anyone interested, I dropped it in here, just grab the wifi file and place it in /etc/rc.d/ and offcourse make it executable.

Categories: Network Tags:
  1. January 18, 2011 at 3:38 AM

    Hey yo, can you drop the wifi script to my email viruszzz [at] viruszzz .co .cc . I`m kind of interested what its content looks like …

    Respect, by ViruSzZ

  2. January 18, 2011 at 10:15 AM

    @Viruszz

    Updated the link to the script, sorry I didn’t notice that drop.io expired!
    Also mailed ya.
    Cheers πŸ™‚

  3. January 25, 2011 at 6:45 AM

    Yea, man i got the email, thanks for that. I`m running into troubles to get my arch running on my brand new notebook HP g62 … The wifi is controlled via the FN+f12 combination and my FN keys are dead on linux. It is due to the bios ver. Also, it has hybrid graphics and it`s a pain in my ass but I must get it working ….

    Respect

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

